Make Half Your Grains -- Whole Grain

What is a grain?  These are foods like bread, pasta, rice, and cereal.  The grain group is divided into 2 groups -- whole grains and refined grains.  Whole grains have the entire grain kernel which provides more fiber.  Refined grains have been milled, removing the part of the kernel.  This process helps to improve the shelf life of these foods, but removes the fiber.  The Dietary Guidelines recommend that at least 1/2 of  the grains that we eat each day be whole grains.  These foods give more nutrients and help prevent certain diseases.

What foods are considered whole grain?
Whole Wheat Flour
Brown Rice

    How do you add some of these foods into your daily meals?  Here are some tips!

    1.  Make simple changes.  Instead of buying white bread or white rice, try 100% whole wheat bread or brown rice.
    2. Try new grains.  Purchase whole wheat pasta or macaroni.  Find a grain that you have never tried before.  Whole grains that you may want to try are: bulgur, quinoa, or wild rice.
    3. Substitute whole wheat flour in baking.  When the recipe calls for flour, try using at least 1/2 whole wheat flour in the recipe.
    4. Read food labels.  Read the ingredient list on food packages and choose products that have whole grain first on the list.  Look for these words: "whole wheat", "brown rice", "bulgur", "buckwheat" "oatmeal", "whole grain oatmeal", "whole rye" and "wild rice". 
    5. Choose whole grain snacks.  Healthy snack options that have whole grains include: popcorn, whole wheat or rye crackers, whole grain cereal, and whole wheat tortillas.

    Making simple changes will help you add more grains to your diet!

No comments

Post a Comment

This institution is an equal opportunity provider. This material was funded by USDA's Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program - SNAP in cooperation with Maryland's Department of Human Services and University of Maryland Extension. The University of Maryland Extension will not discriminate against any person because of race, age, sex, color, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, religion, ancestry or national origin, marital status, genetic information, political affiliation, and gender identity or expression.
© Eat Smart, Be Fit Maryland!Maira Gall